Gastronomy: caught between quality and price.

In practically every branch of the gastronomy industry, pressure from rising costs has grown remarkably. At all-day schools for example, a federal average of 2.83 Euro per child per lunch is allotted. This shameful figure forces food providers to seek out the cheapest industrial commodities available. Pricing pressure in mass catering services further drives the inflationary spiral downward.
Restaurants, too, are affected by rising costs. In particular, minimum wage, new working hour regulations and their obligatory documentation make any necessary supplementary work extremely difficult. A shift change during a wedding? Who’s supposed to pay for that?
To a broad extent however, it is the purchasing budget that truly determines what goes in the shopping cart. If luxury products were once the exclusive purview of the catering industry, guests can now find them in retail, and thus feel entitled to evaluate the price of a meal, even if they understand very little about the series of factors that enter the overall pricing. Even if the customer indicates his willingness to spend more for higher quality products, he has learned to look out for “special offers” and opt for the most inexpensive choice. With few exceptions, the reigning “cheap is cool” mentality makes it difficult for the catering industry to set decent pricing.
How should the industry approach this problem? What strategies will help to avoid price traps? And what role do retail marketers and manufacturers play within this context? How do they position themselves? For the opening of CHEF-SACHE, talk show host, gourmand and Grand Seigneur Ralf Bos will bring his entertaining approach to this topic alongside an inspired panel of guests.

Gastronomie im Konflikt zwischen Qualität und Preis.

Talkgäste

In allen Sparten der Gastronomie hat sich der Preisdruck teils dramatisch ver­schärft. Für die Mittagsverpflegung unserer Kinder stehen den Ganztags­schulen im Bundes­durch­schnitt ganze 2,83 Euro zur Verfügung. Das ist skandalös und zwingt den Versorger, zu billigster Industrieware zu greifen. Der Preis­kampf im Bereich der Gemeinschafts­verpflegung schraubt die Preisspirale weiter nach unten.
Aber auch vor den Restaurants jeden Genres macht der Kostendruck nicht halt. Mindest­lohn, neue Arbeitszeitenregelung und deren Dokumentationspflicht torpe­dieren besonders das notwendige Nebengeschäft Veranstaltungen. Schicht­wechsel während einer Hoch­zeitsfeier? Wer soll das bezahlen?
In erheblichem Maße aber spielt das Einkaufsbudget für den Warenkorb eine Rolle. Waren einst Edelprodukte der Gastronomie vorbehalten, kann sie der Gast nun selbst im Handel erwerben und fühlt sich so in der Lage, den Preis für ein Gericht zu bewerten, auch wenn er von den anderen Faktoren der Kalkulation nichts ver­steht. Selbst wenn der Konsument die Bereitschaft signalisiert, für gute Produkte mehr ausgeben zu wollen, so hat er doch gelernt, auf das Wörtchen “Angebot“ zu achten und nach dem Preiswertesten zu greifen. Diese so oft ausgesprochene “Geiz-ist-geil“-Mentalität verwehrt der Gastronomie eine an­stän­dige Kalkulation, wenige Ausnahmen ausgenommen.
Wie geht die Gastronomie mit der Problemstellung um? Welche Strategien aus der Preisfalle gibt es? Und wie ist die Position des Handels und der Hersteller in diesem Gefüge? Wie taktieren sie? Talkmaster, Gastrosoph und Grand Seigneur Ralf Bos wird in bekannt amüsanter Weise mit diesem Talk und spannenden Gästen die CHEF-SACHE eröffnen.

JETZT HIER RALF BOS UND SEINE GÄSTE LIVE ERLEBEN!