This new series is designed specifically for sommeliers, F&B managers, chefs and service employees with a sensitivity for pairing beverages. The School of Wine does not just offer a series of wine tastings during which visitors try wine after wine. While tasting forms a part of the experience, the central focus rests on the type of content obtained in a real school.
As with the CHEF-SACHE main stage, the course seeks to provide lasting experiences, education, networking and insight into the future of the market. They are master classes offered at a world class level, presented by advisors of the same caliber.

Program summary:

Champagne’s terroir & viniculture

Christian Joseph from the Bureau de Champagne, alongside Sascha Speicher from the publishing house Meininger and Suwi Zlatic, Austria’s leading sommelier and Champagne ambassador, offer guests a unique tasting opportunity. In five flights they will engage a variety of approaches and vinicultral methods.

Future wine bar concepts

Willi Schlögl, Cordobar, Steve Breitzke, Weinbistro Mast and Rienne Bilz, head sommelier of the steak house MASH take us behind the curtains to present their concepts in a public forum.

International wine concepts

Master of Wine Andreas Wickhoff, the general manager of the Weingut Bründlmayer, reports on current trends in international wine lists and explores a range of topics that includes pricing wine lists – from three-star restaurants to menuless restaurants. The course focuses not only on newer trending regions, but also on the value of traditional areas of cultivation such as Tuscanny and Bordeaux.

European Wine Legends RED

Master of Wine Franc Roeder, founder of the wine business VIF and a former A380 pilot, explores red wines from some of Europe’s most renowned vineyards.

European Wine Legends WHITE

Master of Wine Caro Maurer explores white wines from some of Europe’s most renowned vineyards.

Natural Wines

A panel discussion from the perspective of a natural wine producer, a journalist and a top sommelier.

Maturation by vintage vs. Colheita

Gonçalo Aragão e Brito of the Symington Family Estates demonstrates the results of different types of maturation with a series of barrel-matured (Colheita) and bottle-matured (Vintage) port wines from over five decades.

Austria’s Grüner Veltliner, great art without affectation.

This tasting introduces the grapes’ variety of facets. The tasting will be led ÖWM’s managing director Willi Klinger and Willi Balanjuk, who will introduce us to the grape’s flexibility on the basis of different vinicultrual styles.

Behind a Master’s Head

Alongside Master of Wine Caro Maurer and master sommelier Tobias Brauweiler, participants will sample wines in a blind tasting, and compare their assessments to that of professionals.

Beyond Sweetness – experimental teamwork between chef and sommelier

This nonexclusive network of cooks and sommeliers was created four years ago, and developed through a series of workshops in Cologne’s Centre Port Culinaire, the Taubenkobel at the Neusiedlersee, and the Restaurant am Kamin in Mülheim/Ruhr.
Star chefs Nils Henkel and Sven Nöthel, Patissier Tobias Weyers and Jörg Geiger of the eponymous manufacturer provide insight into developing alcohol-free beverage pairings.

Master class School of Wine


Stölzle Weinprofi Winterhalter


Champagne Staatl. Fachingen

Dieses neue Format richtet sich insbesondere an Sommeliers, F&B-Manager, Chefs und Servicemitarbeiter mit hoher Affinität zum Thema korrespondierende Getränke. Die School of Wine ist keine neue Weinverkostungsveranstaltung, auf der sich die Besucher Stand für Stand durchprobieren. Sicher gibt es das hier auch, aber der Fokus steht auf Inhalten, die in einer authentischen Schule vermittelt werden.
So wie auf der CHEF-SACHE Hauptbühne geht es um nachhaltige Erfahrungen, Lern-inhalte, Networking und einen Blick in die Zukunft des Marktes. Masterclasses in World Class Level, abgehalten von Referenten auf eben diesem Niveau.

Die Masterclasses sind für jeden zugänglich. Sommeliers, F&B Manager, Serviceleiter, Presse und Blogger, bitte hier anmelden.

Programmübersicht:

Champagner Terroir & Ausbau

Christian Josephi vom Bureau du Champagne führt Sie gemeinsam mit Sascha Speicher vom Meininger Verlag und Suwi Zlatic, bester Sommelier Österreichs und Champagnerbotschafter, durch ein ganz besonderes Tasting. In fünf Flights setzen sie sich mit den unterschiedlichen Heransgehensweisen und Ausbaumethoden auseinander.


Weinbar-Konzepte der Zukunft

Willi Schlögl, Cordobar, Steve Breitzke, Weinbistro Mast und Rienne Bilz, Head Sommelier Steakhaus MASH stellen ihre Weinkonzepte in einer öffentlichen Diskussion vor und geben Einblicke hinter die Kulissen.


Weinkonzepte International

Master of Wine Andreas Wickhoff, aktuell General Manager des Weinguts Bründlmayer, teilt mit Ihnen aktuelle Trends der internationalen Weinkarten und gibt Ihnen Hintergründe über die unterschiedlichen Herangehensweisen, von der Kalkulation einer Weinkarte für ein Drei-Sterne-Restaurants bis hin zu kartenlosen Restaurants. Dabei geht er zum einen auch auf neue Trendregionen ein, aber auch auf den Stellenwert von klassischen Anbaugebieten wie Toscana und Bordeux.


European Wine Legends RED

Master of Wine Frank Roeder, Gründer des VIF Weinhandels und ehemaliger A380 Pilot, verkostet mit Ihnen einige Rotweine der prägendsten Weingüter Europas.


European Wine Legends WHITE

Master of Wine Caro Maurer verkostet mit Ihnen einige Weißweine der prägendsten Weingüter Europas.


Natural Wines

Eine Podiumsdiskussion aus dem Blickwinkeln eines Naturweinproduzenten, eines Journalisten und eines Top-Sommeliers.


Reifen von Vintage vs. Colheita

Gonçalo Aragão e Brito vom Hause Symington Family Estates zeigt mit fassgereiften (Colheita) und flaschengereiften (Vintage) Portweinen aus fünf Jahrzenten die Potentiale unterschiedlicher Reifung.


Österreichs Grüner Veltliner, große Kunst ohne Allüren.

In einem Tasting zeigt die Edeltraube all ihre Facetten. In fünf Flights führt Sie der Geschäftsführer der ÖWM Willi Klinger zusammen mit Willi Balanjuk durch das Tasting. Dabei wird Ihnen die Vielfältigkeit der Rebsorte anhand verschiedener Stilistiken dargestellt.


Behind a Master’s Head

Master of Wine Caro Maurer und Master Sommelier Tobias Brauweiler verkosten mit Ihnen Weine in einer Blindverkostung, vergleichen Sie Ihre Einschätzungen mit den Arbeitsweisen der Profis.


Beyond Sweetness – experimentelles Teamwork zwischen Chef und Sommelier

Dieses offene Netzwerk von Köchen und Sommeliers wurde vor vier Jahren gegründet. In verschiedenen Workshops im Centre Port Culinaire in Köln, im Taubenkobel am Neusiedlersee oder im Restaurant am Kamin in Mülheim/Ruhr wurde die Zusammenarbeit von Sommelier und Koch vertieft.
Die Sterneköche Nils Henkel und Sven Nöthel, Patissier Tobias Weyers und Jörg Geiger von der gleichnamigen Manufaktur gewähren Ihnen Einblicke in die Entwicklung alkoholfreier Getränkebegleitung.


Masterclass School of Wine
★★★ PARTNER

★★ PARTNER

Stölzle Weinprofi Winterhalter

★ PARTNER

Champagne