Sternekoch Daniel Humm aus New York live bei uns auf der Bühne
Daniel Humm

Eleven Madison Park 

New York, USA

        

The American Dream
No. 4 World’s 50 Best

What do you do as a well-to-do Swiss family if your offspring really doesn’t enjoy school at all? In fact, he is even shown the door due to a lack of effort and non-attendance. The youngster is then sent to try out all kinds of different trades. But nothing works out there either. Even so, the young Daniel is a gifted athlete and rides in the national mountain bike team. At the age of 14, he got the chance to train as a chef at the luxury hotel Baur du Lac on Lake Zurich. And lo and behold, the boy showed talent… genius even. Suddenly, everything worked out at school as well. Daniel Humm got the best vocational school-leaving qualification in Switzerland. From there, he has progressed into the star league. At 25, he won his own first star. Shortly after that, a hotelier took him to San Francisco. Three years later, the renowned restaurateur, Danny Mayer, lured this exceptional talent to his New York restaurant Eleven Madison Park. There he met his current partner, Will Guidara. In 2011, they bought their workplace together and quickly turned it into the No. 1 in America.

In 2017, the restaurant climbed to #1 on the list of World’s 50 Best Restaurants. It is certainly well-deserved. What makes this restaurant so special is not only the excellent menu, full of unforgettable signature dishes, but also the perfect organisation. There are no seatings. No matter when the guest arrives, they will be served the full menu without delay.

Daniel and Will have become good businessmen. As well as Eleven Madison, they now run two thriving Nomad Hotels with equally good restaurants. The New Yorker has also been awarded a Michelin star. Daniel Humm has truly achieved what is meant by the American dream.

Other Chefs on the CHEF-SACHE 2019

Sascha Stemberg
Haus Stemberg
Velbert, Germany
Alexander Herrmann
Gourmet Restaurant Alexander Herrmann
Wirsberg, Germany
Tanja Grandits
Stucki
Switzerland
Jonnie + Thérèse Boer
De Librije
Zwolle, Netherlands

CS_Website-Humm-400x580px-2019
Daniel Humm

Eleven Madison Park 

New York, USA

        

The American Dream
Daniel Humm, Eleven Madison Park, New York USA
No. 4 World’s 50 Best

Was macht man als gutsituierte Schweizer Familie mit einem Spross, der so gar keine Freude an der Schule findet? Der sogar wegen mangelnder Leistungen und Fehlzeiten vor die Türe gesetzt wird. Man schickt einen solchen Jungen zum Schnuppern in allerlei unterschiedliche Gewerke. Doch auch hier will nichts gelingen. Immerhin ist der junge Daniel ein begnadeter Sportler und fährt in der Mountainbike Nationalmannschaft. Mit 14 Jahren bekam er dann die Chance zu einer Kochausbildung im Luxushotel Baur du Lac am Zürich See. Und siehe da, der Junge zeigte Talent, ja Genialität. Auch das mit der Schule klappte plötzlich. Daniel Humm machte den besten Berufsschulabschluss in der ganzen Schweiz. Dann ging es ab in die Sterneliga. Mit 25 erkochte er seinen ersten eigenen Stern. Kurz darauf holte ihn ein Hotelier nach San Francisco. Drei Jahre später angelte sich der namhafte Restaurateur Danny Mayer das Ausnahmetalent für sein New Yorker Restaurant Eleven Madison Park. Dort traf er seinen heutigen Partner Will Guidara. 2011 kauften sie gemeinsam ihre Wirkungsstätte und machten sie in kurzer Zeit zu Amerikas No. 1.

2017 erklomm das Restaurant die Position 1 auf der Liste der World’s 50 Best Restaurants. Sicher verdient. Denn es ist nicht nur das exzellente, von unvergesslichen Signature Dishes gespickte Menü, was dieses Restaurant auszeichnet, sondern auch die perfekte Organisation. Es gibt keine Seatings. Egal wann der Gast kommt,  wird ihm ohne Verzögerung das komplette Menü serviert.

Daniel und Will sind zu guten Unternehmern geworden. Mittlerweile betreiben sie neben dem Eleven Madison zwei gutgehende Nomad Hotels mit ebenfalls guten Restaurants. Das New Yorker ist ebenfalls mit einem Michelinstern ausgezeichnet. Daniel Humm hat das verwirklicht, was man unter dem amerikanischen Traum versteht.

Vorträge und Programm mit Daniel Humm

Weitere Chefs auf der Chefsache 2019

Alexander
Dressel
Friedrich Wilhelm
Potsdam, Germany
Thomas
Bühner
Thomas Bühner
Germany
Sven
Elverfeld
Aqua
Wolfsburg, Germany
Joachim
Wissler
Vendôme
Gladbach, Germany
    PARTNER